🌟 What is it?
From SOLIDWORKS PDM 2026, automatic synchronization of vault views ensures that modified, checked‑out files are automatically synchronized to the PDM archive server where the local view is connected, even if the user has not checked them back in yet.
🌟 Why it matters?
🔄 1. Seamlessly work across multiple devices
If you modify a checked-out file on Computer-A (e.g. Desktop/Workstation), you can log-in on Computer-B (e.g. Laptop), transfer “ownership” of the file, and continue working with your latest edits already synchronized on the computer.
👥 2. Multi-user collaboration
Another user could take “ownership” of the file on-demand, be it on the same or a different machine, and continue editing or checking it in if the original user is absent or away.
🛟 3. Recovery of data
If someone has a file checked out but can no longer check it in (e.g., machine lost or failure), PDM 2026 will have a backup and can recover their modified version without data loss. Preventing costly rework and safeguarding critical design changes.
This is a new game-changing system enhancement over prior versions of SOLIDWORKS PDM, where an “Undo Check-Out” operation performed would discard any potential changes made to a file if it could not be checked in from its specified checked-out source.
E.g.:


—
🌟 How to use it?
In SOLIDWORKS PDM 2026, a new pdm file operation “Transfer ownership” is available for users:

Provided the appropriate PDM group/user permissions, e.g. administrators/managers can now manage and transfer ownership of checked-out files.
To be able to use this functionality, you will need to have the below folder and state permissions:
- Can transfer ownership of files checked out by current user
- Can transfer ownership of files checked out by other users

—
If you have any queries, you can contact us at support@seacadtech.com


